Jambalaya with chicken & chorizo (the lazy way)

img_7706I’ve cooked a lot of these recipes again but this is deffo in the top 5 of the meal I’ve cooked the most.  However I’ve moved away from the original version “Chicken chorizo and prawns“. Not because there’s anything directly wrong with it but I found a quicker/lazier way of doing it.

I had hoped that it might fit under the 5/2 diet I’m doing (follow that blog here) but unless we share a portion – that’s not possible.  239 calories would be fine in a day but how filling it is for a fasting day remains to be tested.

Ingredients

8 servings @ 478 calories per portion.

  • 445g (which is what 4 chorizo sausage weight), sliced
  • 1kg chicken thighs (they taste better when cooked for long)
  • 6 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 2 onion, chopped
  • 2 green capsicum, seeds removed, diced
  • 4 tbs sweet smoked paprika
  • 400g long-grain rice
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 800ml tomato chopped tomatoes
  • 1l chicken stock
  • 1 tbs cayenne pepper (optional if you don’t like it spicy)
  • 3 tbs cajun spice
  • 1 tbs oregano

Add the chicken, chorizo and tomato to a large pot with 1/2 of the spices and start cooking on low heat stirring occasionally.

Whilst you got that on the stove, chop the veggies up and add with the stock and rice.  Also taste it and if you like me enjoy a lot of flavour – add the rest of the spices)  You may need to add a little extra water until the rice is ready. It takes about 15 minutes of additional cooking for it to be finished.  Remember to stir from the bottom regularly or it will burn solidly – I did that once 😦 .

You can eat straight away but I always freeze half of it.  It’s extremely tasty if I may say so myself.

